Public History Prize Essays

The Public History Prize is an annual award offered by the Professional Historians Association of NSW & ACT (PHA NSW & ACT). The prize is open to NSW & ACT students engaged with the field and practice of public history. You can find out more about the prize here.


Nathan Fallon, Macquarie University
Transmitting the memory of the Holocaust to the Australian Public: the cultivation of prosthetic memory in the Sydney Jewish Museum


Nathan Stormont, University of Sydney
Challenging Helsinki- Human Rights-Agitation National Aspirations and Socialist Legality in Soviet Ukraine 1965-1980


Sarah Gregory, Macquarie University
Understanding Shades of Grey: The Testimonies of Two Former Auschwitz-Birkenau Sonerkommando Survivors: The Gabbai Brothers

Brett Seymour, University of Sydney
Robben Island: Histories, identities and futures


Rosa Grahame, Australian National University
‘Mountains out of molehills: Black Mountain and the Human Imagination’.


Megan Walford,  University of NSW
‘Protest and memory: the Sydney Gay and Lesbian Mardi Gras’

Gary Boyce, University of New England
‘Understanding the heritage of the City of Sydney Fire Station’


Joanna Laidler, University of NSW
‘What roles do Museums play in shaping our understanding of the holocaust?’

Lena Hattom, University of NSW
‘Coming to Australia: Voices from the SIEV-4’


Ilana Cohn, University of NSW
‘The Holocaust Since 1945’

Bethan Donnelly, University of NSW
‘Villawood Migrant Hostel’